Federal Protective Service

About this Agency

The Federal Protective Service, also known as the FPS, is a federal law enforcement agency that is responsible for security and law enforcement services to buildings owned and leased by the federal government. Along with this, they provide the same services to many other properties and assets.

The mission of the Federal Protective Service is to: render federal properties safe and secure for federal employees, officials and visitors in a professional and cost effective manner by deploying a highly trained and multi-disciplined police force. The agency dates back to 1790.

The main responsibilities of agents and officers within the Federal Protective Service include: preventing crimes, interrogating suspects, conducting criminal investigations, assisting police during emergencies, and arresting offenders. As a uniformed officer of the Federal Protective Service each agent has the jurisdiction of a sheriff without having to worry about the civil responsibilities.

At this time, there are roughly 2,100 employees of the Federal Protective Service. Approximately 750 are law enforcement officers and agents.

Hiring Process and Eligibility

Officer hiring requirements include: must be a United States citizen, 21 years of age or older, have a valid driver’s license, qualify for a service revolver on an annual basis, pass a physical test, and pass training at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center.

Although the above requirements make you eligible for a job with the Federal Protective Service, it is not guaranteed as positions are highly competitive. The Federal Protective Service suggests that earning a bachelor’s or master’s degree increases the chance of being hired.

Contact Information

Federal Protective Service