Tennessee Valley Authority Police

About this Agency

The Tennessee Valley Authority Police is a law enforcement agency in the United States with jurisdiction in Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. The main responsibility of the Tennessee Valley Authority Police is to protect the Tennessee Valley Authority – a federal corporation that provides electricity generation, flood control, and other services to the Tennessee Valley region. In addition to protecting property and employees of the Tennessee Valley Authority, the police force must also ensure the safety of more than 100 million annual users.

The Tennessee Valley Authority Police headquarters is located in Knoxville, Tennessee and is organized into seven districts.

In addition to protecting the property, employees, and visitors involved with the Tennessee Valley Authority, officers also take part in many community training programs which include: defensive driving, first aid, gang awareness, terrorism awareness, rape aggression defense, and workplace violence.

Hiring Process and Eligibility

The qualifications and requirements for becoming a Tennessee Valley Authority Police officer include:

  1. At least 21 years of age
  2. United States citizen
  3. No dishonorable military discharge
  4. A bachelor’s degree in criminal justice or similar field; or a two year degree with relative work experience
  5. Pass a background investigation
  6. Knowledge of basic computer skills
  7. Completion of all required testing and training including a medical exam, psychological exam, and drug screening

Officers must also complete a training session at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center.

Contact Information

Tennessee Valley Authority Police
Tennessee Valley Authority
400 W. Summit Hill Drive
Knoxville, TN 37902-1499